Princess Cornflakes

Too trashy to print on a cereal box

Heaven or Las Vegas

leave a comment »


I really like this album by the Cocteau Twins. Yeah, I know it’s a later one and early stuff like “The Pink Opaque” or “Blue Bell Knoll” is thier canonical best. I like just about everything by them. But the light poppyness and ethereal vocals of “Heaven or Las Vegas” really suits me right now. I can’t take my music too dark or intense these days as I’ve got small kids and life’s intense enough.

Anyway, Camilla is proving to have good taste in music, and this is the other reason I write about HOLV. Whenever I put on the album, she starts swaying and dancing! This is not something she does to all of my music. She doesn’t do it to Brian Eno. But she likes the Cocteau Twins! Maybe it’s because of Liz Fraser’s light, high-pitched voice. Perhaps it appeals to babies. Maybe it’s because the Cocteau Twins music is so angelic and Camilla (like all babies) is a little angel. Whatever it is, it’s very cute. I hope Camilla grows up having lots of tastes in common with me.

Written by nattie

February 27, 2006 at 5:11 am

Posted in music

Leave a Reply

