Princess Cornflakes

Too trashy to print on a cereal box

The Importance of Bright Plastic Jewelry

leave a comment »


I think I found another piece in my ongoing fashion puzzle – “How Do I Have More Fun Wearing 1950’s Vintage Clothing?”. The answer: Plastic jewelry! It’s what they actually wore in the 1950’s. It was there all the time, the natural choice for those great 1950’s dresses. It can be necklaces or earrings. It can be dark:

black and pink dress

Or Bright:

Vintage 1950's aqua blue plastic flower earrings

Clip-On Pineapple Earrings

 

These types of plastic earrings are so bright and fun. How could one not wear them?.

I could see them with a 1940’s rayon dress, bright red lipstick and not too much eye makeup. (Of course they would also look great with jeans or low-top converse, or capris, flats and a bulky cardigan).

dark blue 1940's rayon dress

Of course, back in the 1980’s, vintage 50’s styles were just becoming popular. We wore lots of colorful earrings then.

Raspberry 1980's Earrings on eBay

1980s raspberry earrings

Yes they were tacky, and much more Valley-Girl than the 1950’s styles they were trying to copy, but at least they were an early attempt to be “retro”, wild and bright. Think of Peg Bundy from “Married With Children”.

The Bundys from "Married With Children"

Although I have been collecting vintage clothing of the 1950’s, since the 1980’s, I never realized how much more fun plastic jewelry adds to the whole look. I had always just worn vintage with my typical silver, red, and black “hippie” jewelry.

beaded hippie earrings

I mean, these are really pretty, but they don’t complement a 1950’s dress like plastic does. They are better worn with a miniskirt and boots or a long 1970s-style hippie skirt and sandals. That’s great stuff, but it’s for another post, and frankly, I think it’s going to be a really long time before I stop wearing button earrings, now that I have reached this level of inspiration.

I will start with these leather pistol-and-stamen beauties that I won in eBay auction yesterday for $1. Don’t worry, leather may be a natural material, but I will work my way up to plastic.

Yellow Leather Earrings

And next time you try on a vintage dress but are wondering what it is lacking, go for the plastic beads.

Peg Bundy would be proud.

Written by nattie

March 15, 2012 at 1:57 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

