Princess Cornflakes

Too trashy to print on a cereal box

Misfits? Guess again!

with 5 comments


People often wonder why I was an art historian, and why I took Visual Culture classes. There is nothing
lucrative that you can do with art history. And visual culture must be the silliest subject in the world. I mean all you are doing is looking at pictures, right?*

Yes, I know, your 5-year-old can look at pictures*. But that doesn’t make him a cultural critic. That doesn’t give him an understanding of the language of the visual world (visual semiotics and semantics) and the ability to analyze the power of images over popular culture. That is what we do in art history.Madame_X_(Madame_Pierre_Gautreau),_John_Singer_Sargent,_1884_(unfree_frame_crop)

This might not seem so interesting or useful. I mean they are just harmless pictures, right? Why would anyone want to criticize pictures? Well, some pictures, like children’s illustrations, or paintings, are fairly harmless. But the majority of pictures that we see every day are not art or illustration. Most of the images we see today are advertising, and I believe advertising must be criticized and historicized. That doesn’t mean that we have to think ads are “bad”. But we should see ads for what they are, an attempt to sell us something in a very seductive way. Sometimes ads are cool. But they aren’t art.

I was recently thinking about those great 1990’s ads for Guess jeans (Georges Marciano). They were so beautiful. They looked like dramatic films stills and they featured top models like Claudia Schiffer or Anna Nicole Smith. They usually had a very “American” feeling to them, like something from a western. But others were very European like an old Italian realist movie. They felt gritty and cinematic.adv_4540

It occurred to me that a major influence on the 1990’s Guess ads was John Houston’s 1961 film, The Misfits. You know the one with Marilyn Monroe and Clark Gable. If you don’t know it you should see it. It’s set in the American desert and tells the story of a divorcée and some struggling cowboys in Nevada still trying to live the frontier life in the 1960’s, but probably well on their way to just becoming trailer trash on the outskirts of Las Vegas in a world where global distribution and spreading suburbanism was killing the frontier. It’s a study of the end the cowboy persona and the American idea of “freedom” that came with it.

misfits

The Misfits and those Guess ads have so much in common. Passionate love, beautiful dumb people, and a gritty, black-and-white environment. But I would say that the Misfits is art and the Guess ads are not. John Huston, filmmaker of the Misfits, wanted to say something about how the frontier no longer fits daily life. Like an advertiser, he used beauty to make his message attractive and seductive. But his message was so much more thought provoking than the Guess message, which is simply “buy jeans”. But I don’t think much more of an argument needs to be made for these differences.

guess_2But lots of people who grew up on the Guess ads (like me) stop there and see the ads as iconic. The ads do have the feeling of the film, but they are derivative. They only communicate how the film looked, and not Huston’s overall message. To get to the message, you have to think harder and find the thing in history that influences the ads. But in our visual world where new images are constantly replacing old ones, we are not conditioned to look up the older things. We are so caught up in watching the ever-changing slide show of new images, some of which make us forget the past, but many of which, like the Guess ads, evoke it. These “throwback” images represent consumer culture’s obsession with nostagia that post modernists like Fredrick Jameson referred to as the “historical amnesia”.

And it’s cool. After all, we don’t want to overanalyze and over think things. And yet, sometimes being constantly entertained gets old. We start to wonder if we are making our own choices any more. That is why I personally love old images and old things. I love to see what people watched on TV in the 1950’s and 1960’s. I love to see the products they bought, the brochures they looked it, their flowery kitchen wallpaper, their speech and lack of clever irony. I even love more recent old things, like techno from the 1990’s. I think it’s important to try to remember or research how people behaved in other eras. And I’m not just talking about cool hot rods and rockabilly music or raves and pacifiers. I’m talking about the boring everyday aspects of a past era. How they might only have had one telephone in the house, or a girl might only have had two dresses because clothes were made in America, the little forgotten details.

The misfits 2So overall, art history is good and useful. We see lots of images – art primarily. We see how they have been received through history. An understanding of these older images serves as a triggers for memory when we are looking around our highly mediated environment, so that we can demystify popular advertising images and understand where they came from, and we don’t get too swept up in the seduction of novelty, like hapless cowboys trying to live in a romantic past that doesn’t really exist.

* Here is the rest of my diatribe about your five year old. It felt like I was getting off-topic so I made it a footnote: Your dear child CAN make something that looks like a Rauschenberg, or a Jackson Pollack (more likely a Pollack. Rauschenbergs were really complicated multi-media collages and most 5-year-olds couldn’t do the nailing or sawing involved). What your 5-year-old cannot do is make them at the right historical moment. Your kid doesn’t understand the evolution of painting over hundreds of years, and the “art rules” that were in place up until the 50’s that caused manipulating paint in a seemingly haphazard way to be so revolutionary. Sorry. Your 5-year old is not avant-garde.

Written by nattie

February 9, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Can an ad not be both art and sell you?

    I mean really we “buy” art so there is a value to it… just throwing thoughts out there.

    I’m looking for some reading material to become more cultured on art… any recommendations?

    Peace and Love,

    Vic

    Science of Natural Game

    March 24, 2014 at 6:45 pm

    • Oh I’m sure ads can be art. I’m not saying they are bad, just saying that thinking critically about them is a good thing to do. As for books, why don’t you start by reading something like Janson’s History of Art. It’s the basic textbook and a good survey.

      musicfan

      March 25, 2014 at 12:25 am

      • Amazoning it should be here shortly… thanks teach. 😉 I’ll let you know.

        Hope all is well…. didn’t realize you were also artpost for a moment…. we had a short conversation on a blog I guest wrote a while back…

        Peace and love,

        Vic

        Science of Natural Game

        March 25, 2014 at 7:19 pm

  2. Hi Princess, cute name btw ❤

    I'm a friend of yours from high school…the one who invited you to see Echo and the Bunnymen with me because I didn't know who else to ask to go to the concert with, and you just "looked" like the type of person who could possibly want to go, lol! And you did!!! I was very shy and I was really happy that you accepted my invitation, and you turned out to be a wonderful friend for that.

    I haven't talked to you in probably 15 years+, but I want to let you know I looked up your name and it directed me here and I must say,.. you have some very interesting stuff you're blogging about! I wanted to reply to the last blog but I'm not that familiar with Roxy Music (albeit I know you love them a ton and I remember you listening to them but I never grasped it, unfortunately), However, I listened to the first song and it reminded me of an Eric Clapton song immediately, but I am not that musically inclined and never wanted to get into the conversation.

    Anyways, I'm mostly intrigued by this current post because I too grew up with these Guess images as being iconic to me. I've thought about why these images stood out too. And I've questioned why these are the most iconic for our age. From what I see, I'm thinking Umberto Eco, etc…hyper-reality, and simulacra …..

    The Misfits, as a movie also lives under the umbrella of a false reality in many ways, and I know you have said it is true art. Ken Burns, with the images of true survivors from a dust bowl and the south west is the true art imo…everything else is just hollywood, consumerism, and simulacra.

    I hope we can talk again!
    Lisa

    Skye

    August 30, 2014 at 10:31 am

    • Hi Lisa. I enjoyed your comments very much. Roxy Music has always been a very special band for me and I love the 1st five albums, especially “Manifesto” and “Siren”. Maybe they just remind me of a time in my life. Love the misfits too although it is hollywood and most of what comes from Hollywood is not art. Anyway let’s talk more later in email.

      musicfan

      August 31, 2014 at 12:56 pm


Leave a Reply

